Cuarteto Casals copyright Josep Molina (zur freien Verwendung für Print- und Online-Medien unter Nennung des Copyrights)
Cuarteto Casals
Sun 23.7.2017 / 20:00
Vera Martínez, violin
Abel Tomàs, violin
Jonathan Brown, viola
Arnau Tomàs, violoncello

Joseph Haydn:
The Seven Last Words of Our Saviour On the Cross Hob. XX/1:B

Good Friday in Andalusia. In the late 18th century, the high point of the “Semana Santa”, Holy Week, was an impressive ceremony to commemorate the passion of Christ in the town of Cádiz: on the afternoon of Good Friday the “tres horas” were held, a reading and interpretation of the seven last words on the cross as handed down in the Gospels. In 1786 Joseph Haydn received a commission from faraway Andalusia to compose short pieces of meditative music, to be played so as to alternate with the readings. Haydn welcomed this demanding task. The seven contemplative sonatas are among his most beautiful compositions. The excellent Spanish Cuarteto Casals is one of the most promising string quartets worldwide. Based in Barcelona, it is the first Spanish quartet with an international profile.

ticket price: € 18 to 55
payment methods: Visa, MasterCard, Diners, American Express, Sofort Überweisung
reductions and conditions