Martin Grubinger © Simon Pauly (Zur freien Verwendung bei Print- und Online-Medien unter Nennung des Copyrights)
Martin Grubinger
Wiener Jeunesse Orchester © Julia Wesely (Zur freien Verwendung bei Print- und Online-Medien unter Nennung des Copyrights)
Wiener Jeunesse Orchester
Fri 10.7.2020 / 19:30
Wiener Jeunesse Orchester
Martin Grubinger, Percussion
Christoph Ehrenfellner, conductor

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 1 C major, op. 21 (1800)
Louis Andriessen: The nine symphonies of Beethoven for
orchestra and ice-cream vendor’s bell (1970)
Kalevi Aho: Sieidi – Concerto for solo percussion and orchestra (2010)

This year, the opening ceremony of the Carinthian Summer Music Festival is integrated into a lively concert by the Wiener Jeunesse Orchestra (WJO). The orchestra, founded in 1987 and consisting of young artists from all over Austria, aims to combine youthful delight and musical enthusiasm with the highest standards. For more than thirty years it has been the talent factory for young orchestral musicians in Austria. Concerts by the pleasant youth symphony orchestra have received an enthusiastic response from audiences and the press alike. This is evidenced by their cooperation with major concert promoters in Austria and performances at renowned festivals throughout Europe.
In “Beethoven Year” 2020, the WJO opens the Carinthian Summer Music Festival with the composer’s Symphony No. 1 in C major, op. 21. With this masterpiece, thirty-year-old Beethoven confidently introduced the new century of symphonies at his first Academy Concert in Vienna on April 2, 1800. Louis Andriessen composed Beethoven’s Nine Symphonies for orchestra and ice-cream vendor’s bell in 1970 as a humorous, ironic and critical contribution to the celebrations of the classical composer’s bicentennial. With quotations from all nine symphonies and from light music or the Internationale, Andriessen draws attention to Beethoven as a political composer and criticises the commercialisation of performances Austria’s percussion star Martin Grubinger provides a brilliant start to the festival summer with Kalevi Aho’s Sieidi. With this work by the most important Finnish symphonic composer of our time, Grubinger embarks on an exciting dialogue with the percussion section of the Jeunesse Orchestra.

ticket prices: € 68 / 24* (free seating)
payment methods: Visa, MasterCard, Diners, American Express, Sofort Überweisung
reductions and terms

*pupils & students