Raúl Gómez-Rojas Copyright Sheepscot Creative (free use for print and online media when citing copyright)
Raúl Gómez-Rojas
Metropolitan Youth Symphony, Portland (Oregon) Copyright Sheepscot Creative (free use for print and online media when citing copyright)
Metropolitan Youth Symphony, Portland (Oregon)
Mo 29.7.2019 / 20 Uhr
Metropolitan Youth Symphony, Portland
Raúl Gómez-Rojas, conductor

José Pablo Moncayo: Sinfonietta
N.N. Neues Werk des Portland Young Composer Projekts
Florence Price Dances in the Canebrakes, Sinfonie Nr. 1 in e-Moll (1931–1932)
Samuel Barber Adagio for Strings

The Metropolitan Youth Symphony from Portland is a youth orchestra from the USA with a rich tradition, and they are stopping over in Carinthia for the first time. The young artists from the metropolis on the American west coast present a tour programme with music from their part of the world:
Jose Pablo Moncayo (1912-1958) was a Mexican pianist, percussionist and conductor. He was a friend of Copland and Koussevitzky and is considered to be one of the most important composers of Mexico; his works reflects the tradition, the spirit of renewal and the inner strife of the country. Florence Price (1887-1953) had to struggle with double discrimination, as an African American and as a woman. She was the first African American woman who made a name for herself as a composer of classical music in the USA. Her music is imbued with a modern African American attitude towards life, introducing elements of gospel and typically African American rhythms.
Jesus Arturo Marquez Nava (*1950) is a Mexican Composer. His Danzones are based on folk music from Cuba and the Veracruz region of Mexico.
This concert is supported by Wiener Städtische Versicherung

ticket price: € 55 / 45 / 38 / 18
payment methods: Visa, MasterCard, Diners, American Express, Sofort Überweisung
reductions and conditions