Christoph Stradner © bubu (Zur freien Verwendung bei Print- und Online-Medien unter Nennung des Copyrights)
Christoph Stradner
Di 4.8.2020 / 17:30 Uhr
Christoph Strander, Violoncello

Johann Sebastian Bach: The six Cello Suites
Suite for cello solo No. 1 in G major BWV 1007
Suite for cello solo No. 2 in G major BWV 1008
Suite for cello solo No. 3 in C major BWV 1009
Suite for cello solo No. 4 in E flat major BWV 1010
Suite for cello solo No. 5 in C minor BWV 1011
Suite for cello solo No. 6 in D major BWV 1012

They are the quintessence of Bach’s work, and Bach himself is the quintessence of all music, Pau Casals once said about Johann Sebastian Bach’s six suites for violoncello solo. Today the highly-focussed solo pieces are amongst the highlights of every cellist’s repertoire. Few masters of their instrument have the audacity to play all six in one evening. Christoph Stradner, first solo cellist of the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and member of the Altenberg Trio Vienna, interprets Bach’s unique collection on his Stradivari cello in the Protestant Church of Villach. Bach’s cello suites were likely composed around 1720 in Kothen. The reason behind their composition is still unknown today. Stradner on Bach: Above all, I see in him a deeply human artist with doubts, desires, longings, fears and an extraordinary pleasure in enjoyment. Listening to all six dance suites with the traditional movements of Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Gigue, Minuet and Bourrée together, and in this also following the performer from his highly personal perspective, is a feast for all lovers of baroque music.

ticket prices: € 48 / 25* (free seating)
payment methods: Visa, MasterCard, Diners, American Express, Sofort Überweisung
reductions and conditions

*pupils & students